Indigenous and Black Collaboration

Many of you know of my years of wonderful connection with the Kheprw Institute (KI), a Black youth mentoring and empowerment community in Indianapolis. https://jeffkisling.com/?s=kheprw

Of course much of what I learned there was far from wonderful. I witnessed so many ways structural racism affected this community. So many things that had been kept out of sight, or I had avoided seeing from my privileged life as a White person. When I left Indianapolis, I thanked the KI community for all I had learned. That I felt I had done graduate work there. Alvin said “we’ll put your diploma in the mail.”

Moving to Iowa three years ago, my lifelong concerns about our environment led to engaging with Indigenous communities. It was no surprise to find so many common and parallel issues to what the KI community faces. The sustained uprisings after the murder of George Floyd are as much about Indigenous injustices as they are about Black Lives Matter. Against White corporate capitalism. The following is from my friends at Seeding Sovereignty.

Dear Relative,

Seeding Sovereignty has had the absolute privilege to be involved in so many initiatives over the past four years, to take action and to contribute to the global movement of liberation for all Indigenous peoples. We stand in solidarity with Black people all over the world, and know that the Black revolutionary movement is not separate from the movement for Indigenous sovereignty. Black power matters, Black Trans power matters.

We’ve heard the call, and now would like to call on you, our supporters, friends and comrades to check out a few of the efforts we are elated to collaborate on! Here’s your opportunity to take action with us!

On June 20th we are co-hosting / sponsoring two incredible events:

Saturday, June 20th, 2020

1PM PT / 2 MT / 3 CT / 4 ET / 5PM AT:
THE CONDOR AND THE EAGLE IMPACT EVENT

June 20th marks the beginning of a 10 day endeavour to create accessible information for folx regarding climate change and Indigenous impact. Seeding Sovereignty is honoured to host the launch for World Peace and Prayer day with Chief Arvol Looking Horse with the online screening of The Condor & The Eagle

“The Condor & The Eagle documentary offers a glimpse into a developing spiritual renaissance as the film four protagonists learn from each other’s long legacy of resistance to colonialism and its extractive economy.”

World Peace and Prayer Day with Chief Arvol Looking Horse
More info here: https://thecondorandtheeagle.com/film-launch-impact-series/

This effort aims to raise funds for Chief Arvol’s work to honor sacred sites, Seeding Sovereignty and the Stop The Formosa Campaign.

While donations are encouraged, this online streaming event is available to all.

Please tune into this moving film that features Indigenous leadership from around the world:


_________________________________________________________________________

Saturday, June 20, 2020

Broadcast at 7am PT / 9am CT / 10am ET / 11am AT
& 3pm PT / 5pm CT / 6pm ET / 7pm AT

On Seeding Sovereignty’s Facebook Page:

POOR PEOPLES VIRTUAL MARCH

The Mass Poor People’s Assembly & Moral March on Washington is going digital! On June 20th, Seeding Sovereignty is pleased to co-host the largest digital and social media gathering of poor and low-income people, moral and religious leaders, advocates, and people of conscience in this nation’s history. A global pandemic is exposing even more the already existing crisis of systemic racism, poverty, ecological devastation, the war economy and militarism, and the distorted moral narrative of religious nationalism. On June 20, the 140 million poor and low-income people across this nation will be heard!

We will be live-streaming the March on Seeding Sovereignty’s Facebook page on June 20. Find more info here: https://www.june2020.org/

_________________________________________________________________________

Sunday, June 21, 2020 – Sunday June 28th, 2020:

5K VIRTUAL RUN

June 21st we are excited to announce the launch of our collab for a 5k Virtual Run, June 21-28 – Raising funds for COVID relief mutual effort!

Seeding Sovereignty has partnered with Jordan Daniels / Rising Hearts Jordan has become known both nationally and internationally for her prayer runs for MMIW.

We are asking you to join our social media campaign by posting the reason why you’re running and / or walking with the hashtag #InThisForTheLongRun.

All you have to do is make a sign with the hashtag: #inthisforthelongrun, and post to you social media tagging Jordan, Rising Hearts and Seeding Sovereignty!

Our goal is to raise $5,000 for masks and bring awareness to issues affecting our communities and people. This campaign is open to ALL PEOPLE.

Run registration link & key info: https://events.elitefeats.com/runningforallnations
Follow the FaceBook page: https://www.facebook.com/events/1149909182041663/

We hope you can join us starting June 20th.
Thank you for your support,
The Seeding Sovereignty Collective
Support our work at: seedingsovereignty.org


This entry was posted in Black Lives, Indigenous, race, Seeding Sovereignty, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply